Posting, modifying, and deleting Blog items

Certain Blog portlet users have the ability to post items. These users also have the ability modify and delete their own posts.

As part of the process of posting the item, you can enable commenting, add images, and so forth. However, most of these elements can also be modifed later, as described in "To modify an item" below.

Note that when you save modifications to the content of a post:

See any of the following as appropriate:

+ To determine whether you have permission to post

If you have permission to post Blog items, you'll see a button labeled "Add a New Post" at the top of the portlet instance when the portlet is maximized.

Note that you might have permission to post items in one instance of the portlet, but not in another. If the link is not displayed and you think you are supposed to have permission to post, contact a system administrator.

+ To post an item

  1. Navigate to the portlet instance in which you want to post.

  2. Maximize the portlet instance.

  3. Click the Add a New Post button.

The system displays the Add an Item screen, with the Content tab selected.

  1. Fill out the Content tab as follows:

  1. If you want to review and/or modify the default posting options that exist for the post, click the Options tab. Fill out the tab as follows:

  2. Use the Enable Comments checkbox to enable or disable commenting as appropriate. Note that, depending on how an administrator has configured the portlet instance, only certain roles my have permission to comment.

  3. Use the Attribution checkbox to control whether your name is displayed or hidden.

  4. Use the Show To area to control determine which roles in the system can view the post. Note that even if you do not choose your own role, you will be able to see the post.

  5. If desired, use the Start and End areas to control when the post will launch and whether it will ever expire.

  6. If you are a member of the Faculty role, the system may display a section of the screen labeled Cross Post. You can use this section to specify that your post be displayed not only in the portlet instance that you are using but also in any Blog portlet instances associated with the courses you teach. Note that this option is available only while you are initially creating the post. You cannot come back later to an existing post and cross post it to another portlet instance.

  1. If appropriate, click Preview. The system displays previews of how the full-post will look, as well as the summary for the initial portlet display.

  2. If you are satisfied with the item and want to post it, click Save. If you chose to publish in the future, the system saves the post and will launch it at the appropriate time. If you chose to publish immediately, the system publishes the post in the following ways:

 

+ To modify an item

  1. Navigate to the portlet instance hosting the item you want to modify.

  2. Maximize the portlet instance.

  3. Locate the item you want to modify and click the corresponding pencil icon.

  4. The system opens the item for editing, displaying the Content tab. As appropriate, modify any of the following values for the item:

  1. If appropriate, display the Options tab and modify any of the following:

  2. Whether comments are enabled.

  3. Whether your name is displayed as the author.

  4. The roles that are allowed to display the post. Note that even if you do not choose your own role, you will be able to see the post.

  5. If desired, use the Start and End areas to control when the post will launch and whether it will ever expire. Even if the item is already displayed, if you choose a future Start date, the system will remove it from view and launch it at the newer time that you select. Note, however, that copies of the item might already have been stored by subscribers in their RSS readers and e-mail accounts.

If you are looking for the Cross Post area, note that this option was only available when you initially created the post, and it will not be displayed now.

  1. If appropriate, click Preview. The system displays previews of how the full post will look, as well as the summary for the initial portlet display.

  2. If you are satisfied with the item and want to post it, click Save. As appropriate, the system updates or removes the item in the portlet instance and in all My Subscriptions views. If the item is still publicly viewable, the system sends notifications to RSS subscribers that there was a change.

 

+ To delete an item

Note that when you delete a post, it is only deleted from the Blog portlet instance and from individual users' My Subscriptions portlets. Users who subscribed to the portlet instance using other methods will still have copies of the post.

  1. Navigate to the portlet instance hosting the post you want to delete.

  2. Maximize the portlet instance.

  3. Locate the post you want to modify and click the corresponding trash-barrel icon.

  4. The system generates a dialog asking if you're sure you want to delete the post.

  5. If you're sure you want to delete the post, click OK.

The system removes the post from the Blog portlet instance and from individual users' My Subscriptions portlets.